No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Moderators: Way, Russtronic™, Omen, Abe


Topic Author
dnst3
meh
Posts: 16

No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#1 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 4:17 pm

a week or so ago i decided to make the change to watching HD stuff that ice has. so i remembered i will need a codec or a codec pack. after some searching i found http://forum.icefilms.info/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=643&p=1897#p1897. i installed the ac3 codec and the hd links didn't give me static for audio anymore. however i don't know if that changed things with the stand alone players. ever since then i've had nothing but trouble on playing some of these medias with smplayer and vlc and MPC-HC x64. the video plays fine and the background sound players but any speech is VERY low. the only speech that can be heard is if the characters in the video yell or scream or talk loudly. other than that it's a very quiet whisper that cannot be heard. i am using firefox and chrome to watch stuff on ice but i primarily use firefox 36.0 to download/watch. i only have dvix web player installed. i decided to go with the latest version so i can stream right from firefox. although i still use the aforementioned players to watch it and close tabs out. here is one of the links that gave me trouble.

Code: Select all

http://www.icefilms.info/ip.php?v=206760&
what can i do? sure it's nice to watch things with the divx web player but sometimes ill just download and watch it with smplayer. thank for any help.

User avatar

kukoman
RedTek
Posts: 2756

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#2 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 5:07 pm

Hi, to me it sound like you somehow have set the codec to play in surround (5.1), and you only have stereo speakers? Then any sound meant for the center speaker(Speech) would indeed be verry low or non existing in your stereo system.
Then again if it does it in vlc player, maybe the configuration for you sound card may have been set to do surround ?

And the ac3filter you installed is quite outdated, maybe try the updated version here http://www.ac3filter.net/wiki/Download_AC3Filter

Another great audio codec is ffdshow, it is also a video codec, so if you wanna try, uninstall ac3filter, and probably another codec pack if you have one installed.
http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.net/
When i direct you to a videohost that you can't download from, use a program like jdownloader http://jdownloader.org/download/index?s=lng_en
Else try this addon for firefox, it can download many things also. http://www.downthemall.net/
Also Internet Download Manager does a good job (IDM) http://www.internetdownloadmanager.com/


Topic Author
dnst3
meh
Posts: 16

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#3 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:34 pm

well kukomamasan you are right! i changed the 5.1 to stereo and not things work fine. i had lav filters install for some reason. after tossing that to the curb i installed ffdshow from the link you showed me. hd audio seems fine now. the one complaint is a faint static that wont go away from my speakers. i use to get this but solved in ages ago. although now it's not as easy. im about to go search for some tips. hopefully it isn't permanent. it gets very annoying as you watch a show and hear the audio and this static here and there as things quiet down in streams or shows. anyone wouldn't know how to deal with this weird ongoing low static would they?
thanks again kukomanasan.

User avatar

Russtronic™
The One
Posts: 5901
Contact:

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#4 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:35 pm

Way to go Kuko.. The prob with the unwanted audio may have to do with your sound card or drivers. Sometimes your sound system is better than the filters. I had the same problem so I upgraded my sound from OEM to a Soundblaster. Problem solved...
Image

Image

User avatar

kukoman
RedTek
Posts: 2756

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#5 » Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:13 am

Yea try dig up some driver updates, here is a program that searches your system for correct driver updates, and it's free :-)
http://www.iobit.com/driver-booster.php
Else try this french page, best for updated drivers lol, change language on site.
http://www.station-drivers.com/
When i direct you to a videohost that you can't download from, use a program like jdownloader http://jdownloader.org/download/index?s=lng_en
Else try this addon for firefox, it can download many things also. http://www.downthemall.net/
Also Internet Download Manager does a good job (IDM) http://www.internetdownloadmanager.com/

User avatar

Repdaddy
Sex Robot
Posts: 3329

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#6 » Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:10 am

While you have been given good advice here, please keep in mind too many codecs and too many drivers are worse than having the right things installed for whatever current set-up you have on your device. You may need to wipe the slate to get desirable results.
The internet interprets censorship as damage and routes around it.
I may not believe in what you say, but I will fight to the death for your right to say it
Those who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it


rovb
no0b
Posts: 1

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#7 » Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:14 pm

I had the same issue for about a year. I gave up on it for a bit. Came on today and found a solution that finally worked. I have osx 10.10.2. This link http://www.techisky.com/answers/does-perian-support-ac3-on-mountain-lion-10-8-how-to-fix.html explains everything. In short you will need to get Perian and then update the A52Codec.component file in your system. Good luck to you :)

User avatar

Repdaddy
Sex Robot
Posts: 3329

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#8 » Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:58 pm

Umm......this is a Windows OS thread...
The internet interprets censorship as damage and routes around it.
I may not believe in what you say, but I will fight to the death for your right to say it
Those who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it


Topic Author
dnst3
meh
Posts: 16

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#9 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:02 am

well things seemed to be working for the stand alone players just fine but i received this pop up today while trying to play some hd content. not just once but twice from 2 different shows. Image
i installed the http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.net/ with default settings. maybe i need to adjust settings or something? to get audio to work?
i forgot to mention about the slight static coming from my speakers. when i rebooted my pc it stopped so possible a driver thing... not sure. it came back as windows finished booting up or something. i did find a way to get rid of it though. i opened up my realtek HD audio manager. under speaker config i changed from stereo to quadraphonic. neither of these settings helped. i then set it to 5.1. the constant static hiss went away. i just had to make sure to tick yes to the speakers i had. 2 front and sub woofer. so i guess that solves that? maybe its not an issue and this s how i'm suppose to set up my speakers via the panel? i'm not sure... i thought i'd tell you guys so someone else might find this helpful :) thanks for the replies too.

User avatar

Russtronic™
The One
Posts: 5901
Contact:

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#10 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:45 am

The static is from imperfect filtering. The 5.1 is no giving the whole audio spectrum as it is split pseudo from normal. There is a way to use a 2.1 system in this fashion tho.
Image

Image


Topic Author
dnst3
meh
Posts: 16

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#11 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:55 am

Russtronic™ wrote:The static is from imperfect filtering. The 5.1 is no giving the whole audio spectrum as it is split pseudo from normal. There is a way to use a 2.1 system in this fashion tho.

what do you think i should do?

User avatar

Russtronic™
The One
Posts: 5901
Contact:

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#12 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 4:11 am

The cheapest and more satisfying is a after market sound card. The filters and drivers are light years ahead of the built in sound. Think of it as adding a full race mod to your system. Between the Quad HDMI card (I got it for 180.00 on Ebay) and the 100.00 SoundBlaster card I am happy.
Image

Image


Topic Author
dnst3
meh
Posts: 16

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#13 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:59 am

ok well i see your point. however i am still having an issue with ffdshow or something. look at the screen shot i posted above. it shows what happened last time i wanted to play hd content from a stream.

User avatar

Russtronic™
The One
Posts: 5901
Contact:

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#14 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:14 pm

I would scan for malware..
Image

Image

User avatar

kukoman
RedTek
Posts: 2756

Re: No sound when playing HD on stand alone players

Post#15 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:20 pm

Ok i got the same error when i install the 64 bit version of ffdshow, but the 32 bit works fine, i think 64 bit version is only for 64 bit applications, and not the OS
When i direct you to a videohost that you can't download from, use a program like jdownloader http://jdownloader.org/download/index?s=lng_en
Else try this addon for firefox, it can download many things also. http://www.downthemall.net/
Also Internet Download Manager does a good job (IDM) http://www.internetdownloadmanager.com/

Return to “Win7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest