Icefilms suddenly eating up the CPU

Please Put your ISP on here also, as Countries Laws are affecting Hosts Also.
Anything to do with Host's, such as Slow Downloads or Drop Outs...

Moderators: Russtronic™, Way, Omen, Abe

Forum rules
Please Put your ISP on here also, as Countries Laws are affecting Hosts Also.
Anything to do with Host's, such as Slow Downloads or Drop Outs...

Topic Author
TrainerThomas
no0b
Posts: 4

Icefilms suddenly eating up the CPU

Post#1 » Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:00 am

Hey there,

Ive been using icefilms for a LONG time now, and I am extremely happy for all the work you guys do on this site.
However, the last few weeks, icefilms.info eats up an obscene amount of CPU, just by actually going to the frontpage of the website.
Infact, its 12% of the CPU of the computer, pr page i open. On top of this, it locks up my browser completely, both firefox AND chrome, regardless of which i use. After opening the website, I have to wait about a minute for it to start working again, at which point i can scroll a little bit, click a title, and then another 1-2 minute freeze.

I just confirmed this on 3 separate, high end gaming PCs at 3 different locations in norway. So its not my personal PC doing this.
This forum however, does not have the same effect, nor does any other website i go to.
At the time of writing this, I am running Titanfall, Tera, spotify, and a company management program that I use to pay out salaries, as well as our CRM system. All of this, while watching a movie on viaplay on my second monitor.
The total CPU load is sitting around 35%.

I closed down every single application, opened firefox, opened 4 tabs of icefilms.info.. boom, 100% CPU usage.

Any ideas?

- T

User avatar

Way
RedTek
Posts: 3187

Re: Icefilms suddenly eating up the CPU

Post#2 » Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:17 pm

Code: Select all

I just confirmed this on 3 separate, high end gaming PCs at 3 different locations


Sounds like someone has built the high end gaming pc's therefore has computer knowledge so I won't go into the normal things you should be checking. But with my 3 custom built comps (3-5 years old) and a new off the shelf lower end lappy, and 3 older (5+ years old) off the shelf desktop comps, and a old 2004 XP desktop(10years), and a old 2005 (11years) lappy. I'm having no problems at all. So it sounds like you have a virus or at least malware, adware. All I can say is scan. I don't want to insult you so I shall just stop at this point.

If you really don't know and don't get insulted come back, and we shall try to find your problem.


Topic Author
TrainerThomas
no0b
Posts: 4

Re: Icefilms suddenly eating up the CPU

Post#3 » Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:43 pm

I am not at all a computer wiz, just so thats said. Nor do I ever say that I am. The intention of stating that, is the fact that the computers its been tested on are separated from eachother, with no connection at all.

Only one of them is my own. Ive checked my computer both for malware, and viruses, and thats not the case (according to the programs I use at least). And, it ONLY happens with icefilms, which would be a weird ass virus as far as I know.

And why on earth would I get insulted? :S

User avatar

Repdaddy
Relentlessly Obsessed
Posts: 3408

Re: Icefilms suddenly eating up the CPU

Post#4 » Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:47 pm

Prolly a rogue advert on the network. Block it. Might even be gone by now.
The internet interprets censorship as damage and routes around it.
I may not believe in what you say, but I will fight to the death for your right to say it
Those who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it

User avatar

Way
RedTek
Posts: 3187

Re: Icefilms suddenly eating up the CPU

Post#5 » Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:08 am

Sorry it took so long to get back, Rep is correct, and so were you there was/is doing the same thing for me also. I haven't checked today, but It was doing the same for me on 2 different comps. I sent you a pm on what I have/us. If you don't understand how to use then get back with me.
Way,

Return to “Host Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests